

FAIR PARK FIRST MINUTES OF CALLED MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Tuesday June 17, 2024

A called meeting of the Board of Directors (the "Board") of Fair Park First, a Texas non-profit corporation (the "Corporation"), was held remotely via electronic means and livestreamed to the public at *Facebook.com/Fairparkfirst* on Tuesday July 23 2024 at 4:06 p.m.

Directors Present:

Veletta Forsythe Lill, President and Chair of the Corporation Jason Brown, Vice Chair Robert Luxen, Secretary Chris Bowers Cordelia Boone, Ex Officio Danial Wood, Ex Officio Kimberly Shaw Margo R. Keyes Maribel Moncada Tim Dickey, Ex Officio

Arriving after 4:06:

Lincoln Stevens

Not Attending:

Ann Barbier Mueller Chelby Sanders Kirk Christina B. Lynch

Staff and Guests:

Brian Luallen, CEO of the Corporation Alyssa Arnold, Chief Impact Officer Anita Crethers, Community Engagement Manager Crystal Zapien, Sr. Project Manager Michael Ahearn, EVP Operations OVG
Stacey Church, General Manager
Bryce Hamilton, Director of F&B
Clif Huebner, Director of Finance
Samuel Gaddis, Capital Projects Program Manager
Scott Norton, Asst. General Manager
Steven Flores, Sales
Terrick Bostwick, Asst. Director Operations
Josh Anderson, BRV
Heather Stevens, Rise360
Sonja McGill, Spencer Fane

Mrs. Veletta Forsythe-Lill served as the Chair and Mr. Robert Luxen served as Secretary for the meeting.

1. <u>Call to Order and Introductions.</u>

Mrs. Forsythe-Lill officially called the meeting to order at 4:05. 8 of the Board members were in attendance at the beginning of the meeting, and with a quorum present the meeting proceeded. Board Members, Officers, and employees introduced themselves.

2. Adoption of Minutes

Mrs. Forsythe-Lill entertained a motion to adopt the minutes from Board Meetings held on June 17, 2024 and June 25, 2024. Secretary Luxen made a corresponding motion, seconded by Mr. Jason Brown. The motion passed unanimously.

3. <u>Board Development Committee Update</u>

Mrs. Forsythe-Lill introduced nominations to appoint three new board members, including retired attorney Matt Orwig, Vista Bank executive Lubbock Smith, and AIA Dallas/former City of Dallas planning leader Zaida Basora. She also made a nomination for the appointment of Mr. Jason Brown to Vice Chair for the organization. Secretary Luxen made a corresponding motion, seconded by Mr. Chris Bowers. The motion passed unanimously.

4. <u>Facilities Committee Update</u>

Though Committee Chair Chelby Sanders Kirk was traveling, the board entertained a presentation on Priority Capital Projects funded by a variety of sources, primarily the City of Dallas. The presentation was led by Mrs. Stacey Church and Mrs. Dee Ann Hirsch. The Board noted that these would be expected in or about May of forthcoming years.

5. Executive Reports

Newly promoted Chief Operating Officer Alyssa Arnold led a presentation of recent programs for the non profit including 128 community programs, a 40% increase year over year; the installation of new fountains and bubblers along with procurement for hand dredging along with new native plantings at the Leonhardt Lagoon, generously funded by the Target Corporation; progress on the absorption and relaunch of the former Friends of Fair Park membership program; the launch of design work for the

Corona Plaza improvements generously funded by John and Helen Corona; and a site visit which served as initial steps for the upcoming development of the 2nd Avenue neighborhood park located between Gate Six and the adjacent school.

6. <u>Items for Discussion and Possible Action</u>

The Chair then entertained a motion to enter executive session. Mr. Bowers made a motion to enter Executive Session to discuss confidential and proprietary matters including an update on capital projects and personnel, so as to be advised by outside counsel. Chris Bowers seconded the motion, which was duly passed. The board entered executive session at 5:12p.

Upon exiting Executive Session and returning to regular session at 5:47p, the Chair entertained a motion by Secretary Luxen to empower staff to sever a contract between Fair Park First and AECOM for Program Management. Vice Chair Brown seconded the motion. The motion was voted upon and passed unanimously.

A final motion was made by Secretary Luxen to promote Alyssa Arnold to Chief Operating Officer effective 7/24/2024 with a 10% increase in annual compensation as well as extend Veletta Forsythe-Lill's current Board Term for one year, to continue the duties of Chair. Mr. Matt Orwig seconded the motion, which was voted upon and passed unanimously.

4. Adjournment

There being no other business to consider, upon a motion duly made and seconded, the meeting was adjourned at 8:29 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Robut-Tur

By: Robert Luxen, Secretary